Calendar of the Baha'i Faith

The Baha'i calendar, known as the Bad (which means "wonderful"), is divided into nineteen months, each with nineteen days. 

  • In normal years, four intercalary days — known as AYYAM-I-HA, or the Days of Ha — come after the eighteenth month, while five are added in leap years. 
  • The sum of 19 multiplied by 19 = 361, plus four intercalary days equals 365. 
  • However, the number nineteen was selected for reasons other than its mathematical use. 

Mirza Ali Mohammad (commonly known as the BAB), the Baha'i faith's first prophet, created a calendar for the new religion. 

He had eighteen disciples, thus the calendar's structure remembers the nineteen original Babis.


  • The regular Baha'i worship gathering is the Nineteen-Day Feast, which takes place on the first day of each month. 
  • The three-part structure of each Feast is the same: prayer, congregational business, and fellowship over a shared meal. 
  • The Baha'i year starts on March 21, the spring equinox. 
  • The years of the Baha'i faith are running out. 
  • The first year was 1844, which was the year of the Bab's Declaration. 

Each Baha'i month is named after one of God's attributes: 

Bahá (Splendor) March 21

Jalál (Glory) April 9

Jamál (Beauty) April 28

Azamat (Grandeur) May 17

Núr (Light) June 5

Rahmat (Mercy) June 24

Kalimát (Words) July 13

Kamál (Perfection) August 1

Asmá (Names) August 20

‘Izzat (Might) September 8

Mashiyyat (Will) September 27

‘Ilm (Knowledge) October 16

Qudrat (Power) November 4

Qawl (Speech) November 23

Masá’il (Questions) December 12

Sharaf (Honor) December 31

Sultán (Sovereignty) January 19

Mulk (Dominion) February 7

Ayyam-i-Ha (Days of Ha; intercalary days): February 26-March 1 (February 26-March 2
in leap years)

‘Alá’ (Loftiness) March 2 (month of fasting)

You may also want to learn more about Global Calendar Systems here.