Hindu Calendar

Despite the fact that each geographical area of India has had its own calendar, they are all based on an ancient calendar, India's oldest time measuring system, which can be found in writings dating back to 1000 B.C. 

  • The bulk of the many regional Hindu calendars, which are solely used for religious festivals, split a solar year of 360 days into twelve months. 
  • With the intercalation of a leap month every sixty months, each day is 1/30th of a month. 
  • Along with the calendar, time measurements based on constellation sightings are utilized. 
  • Each month is split into two fortnights: 
    • krsna (dark or waning half) and 
    • sukla (light or brilliant half) (waxing or bright half). 
  • The month starts with the new moon in southern India. 
  • The full moon is marked the start of the month in other areas of the nation. 
  • Many references to the Hindu calendar are provided as follows (depending on the source): month, fortnight (either S=waxing or K=waning), and number of days in that fortnight, for example, Rama Navami: Caitra S. 9. 

The Hindu months' names (with other spellings) are shown below, with the Burmese name in brackets: 

  1. March-April: Caitra or Chaitra [Tagu] 
  2. April-May Vaisakha [Kasone] 
  3. May-June: Jyeshta or Jyaistha [Nayhone] 
  4. June-July: Ashadha or Asadha [Waso] 
  5. July-August at Sravana [Wagaung]. 
  6. Asvina [Thadingyut]: September-October 
  7. Bhadrapada [Tawthalin]: August-September 
  8. October-November: Kartika or Karttika [Tazaungmone] 
  9. November-December: Margasirsa or Margashirsha [Nadaw] 
  10. December-January: Pausa or Pausha [Pyatho]. 
  11. January-February [Tabodwei] Magha 
  12. February-March Phalguna [Tabaung]

You may also want to learn more about Global Calendar Systems here.